Central Pampa Ports

Port general description

This region encompasses the city of Buenos Aires, the central and northern part of the province of Buenos Aires, the southern end of Santa Fe, northern La Pampa and the southern part of Córdoba, San Luis and Mendoza. Its coast is formed by the river Paraná de las Palmas and the River Plate (Río de la Plata) and includes ports in the lower Paraná, in the City of Buenos Aires and the greater Buenos Aires area and in the city of La Plata. It is bounded to the west by Chile and to the east by River Plate. Approximately 21.500.000 people (about 47% of the country’s total population) live in the region, with four capital cities with populations ranging from 196.000 to 2.900.000 inhabitants.
The epicenter for the political, economic and administrative activity of the Central Pampa region is at the city of Buenos Aires (national capital) and the counties around it which conform the greater Buenos Aires area. This greater urban area has approximately 14,1 million inhabitants. The city of Buenos Aires is the seat for the national authorities, diplomatic representatives and the country’s financial-commercial center. Including the greater Buenos Aires area, the lower Paraná and the greater La Plata area, the region has approximately a third of the country’s industries, totaling about 35% of the national production. The region has a dense cargo transport infrastructure which is being constantly modernized to satisfy the increasing needs of the sector. A vast network of radial and belt highways crisscrosses the area, connecting it to the whole country. The Zárate bridge crosses the delta of the Paraná river and establishes a road and railway connection with the southern area of the province of Entre Ríos. Towards the west the highway connects with Santiago de Chile through the Cristo Redentor pass. There is also a network of toll highways to access the city of Buenos Aires. Seven railway lines have their base in this city and fan out from here covering most of the interior of the country. There are four international airports (Ezeiza, Jorge Newbery, Mendoza and San Fernando) and six public airports with paved runways.