Official name

República Oriental del Uruguay.

Geographical position:

Bordering with Brazil (N), Atlantic Ocean (E), River Plate (S) and Argentina (W). Area 176.215 sqkm.




Four equal horizontal light blue stripes on a white field with a golden sun having sixteen rays, inset in a white canton in the upper left hand corner.


When numbers only are used, the order is as follows:
day month year (i.e. 5th July 2013 is 05/07/13).


Decimal system.

Weights and measures:

Metric system.


Peso Uruguayo ($), rate of exchange: Floating.

Political division:

Uruguay is divided into 19 departments, including Montevideo, which in terms of decreasing size are as follows: Tacuarembó, Cerro Largo, Durazno, Paysandú, Salto, Lavalleja, Florida, Artigas, Rocha, Rivera, Treinta y Tres, Soriano, Río Negro, San José, Colonia, Canelones, Flores, Maldonado and Montevideo.

Principal cities:

Census 2011: Montevideo (1.292.000 inhabitants), Canelones (518.000), Maldonado (161.000), Salto (124.000) Colonia (123.000), Paysandœ (113.000).

Population data:

Total population is about 3.252.000 (census 2011) with a density of 18,45 inhabitants per sqkm. 90% of the population reside in urban zones, and about 40% is concentrated within Montevideo and nearby suburban areas. The demographic growth is 0,24% (2011). More than 90% of Uruguayans are of European descent, mainly spaniards, the remainder being persons of indigenous or African extraction and mixed races. Religion is separated from the State and there is complete freedom of worship. The official language is Spanish.


There are three independent ranges of hills, the main one being Cuchilla Grande, situated between the Mirim Lagoon, the Atlantic Ocean and the rivers Uruguay, Negro and Plate, of which the highest peak is Sierra de las Animas of 500 m (1640 ft) with Santa Ana and Haedo to the north.

Lakes and rivers:

Four main river systems exist, namely,
1) Uruguay, Cuareim, Arapey, Dayman, Queguay, Negro and San Salvador rivers.

2) River Plate, San Juan, Rosario and Santa Lucia,and together with the smaller rivers or streams de las Viboras, de las Vacas, San Pedro, Riachuelo, Sauce, Cufre, Pavon, Preyra, Pando, Solis chico, Solis grande and pan de Azucar.

3) The minor rivers Maldonado, Valizas and Chuy, which drain into the South Atlantic Ocean

4) Lagoon Mirim basin, formed by river Cebollatti, Yaguaron and Tacuari.


Subtropical. Main atmospheric pressure: 1019 HPA (winter), 1025 HPA (summer). Mean temperature: 13º C (55,4º F) in winter, 20º C (68º F) in summer. Average rainfall, 75-90 days, 945 mm per annum. Humidity 75%. The predominant winds are from N and E, with storms from SE rotating to S and SW.


Agriculture is Uruguay´s main activity and its principal trading partners, are MERCOSUR, the USA, the European Common Market, Russia and the Middle East countries. Per capita income is reportedly u$s 15.500.


There are 1600 km waterways, 1.641 km of railroad, 77.700 km of motorways, 1 international and 4 domestic airports.

Business hours:
Official Banks 1200/1700
Private Banks 1300/1700
Public offices 0700/1400 Summer 1200/1900 winter
Commercial offices 0900/1200,1400/1800, 0900/1200 sat
Customs 0700/1900

Documents required on entrance:

Other documents, Crew, Store lists, traffic control system, dangerous cargoes, miscellaneous information, stevedoring/tallying, claims, towage, dues and charges, agency fees, shipments of meat, containers, fumigation, regulations governing the shipment of livestock, coastguard, weather forecast, bridges, pilotage, Montevideo-consulates of embassies

Uruguayan Ports:

Punta Jose Ignacio Oil terminal, Punta del Este, Montevideo, Colonia, Nueva Palmira, M´Bopiquá, Fray Bentos.